Scholarship awarded in honour of Prof. Y C Cheng by engineering alumni

Aug 4, 2016

The Presentation Ceremony of Y C Cheng Engineering Scholarship was held on August 4, 2016 in the Foundation Chamber, Hung Hing Ying Building, HKU. 

The Y C Cheng Engineering Scholarship was established by a group of the former students of Professor Y C Cheng in honour of Professor Cheng with a view to expressing their gratitude to their mentor. Professor Cheng is the former Dean of Engineering (1987-1989) and former Vice-Chancellor of HKU (1996-2000).

The Scholarship supports Engineering students’ overseas learning including participation in academic exchange and summer programmes, undergraduate research studies as well as internship opportunities.

The donor group comprises Dr. James Ma, Professor P T Lai (Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering), Professor Philip Wong, Dr. Kevin Chau, Dr. Zhihong Liu, Dr. K K Hung, and Dr. Hong-Seh Lim. Vice-President Mr. Douglas So also joined the ceremony and greeted Professor Cheng and the donors. During the ceremony, certificates were presented to two scholarship recipients, Mr. Gao Chang from Computer Science and Mr. Gu Derun from Engineering Science, who have achieved outstanding academic merit. These two outgoing and energetic Year 3 students will take part in an exchange programme for one semester during the academic year 2016/17 in UCLA, one of the top engineering schools in the world.


From left: Dr. James Ma, Dean Professor Norman Tien, Professor Y C Cheng, Mr. Gao Chang, Mr. Gu Derun, Professor P T Lai, Professor Philip Wong,  Dr. Kevin Chau


Front row (left to right): Ms. Janet Chung, Professor Bernadette Tsui, Registrar Mr. Henry Wai, Mrs. Cheng, Professor Y C Cheng, Dean Professor Norman Tien, Vice-President Mr. Douglas So, Ms. Kitty Wong
Back row (left to right): Professor Francis Au, Professor Francis Lau, Professor Ben Kao, Dr. Kevin Chau, Professor P T Lai, Mr. Gu Derun, Mr. Gao Chang, Professor Philip Wong, Dr. James Ma, Mrs. Wendy Ma, Ms. Monica Wong


This news is also published on the HKU Giving website